“ Be the Change that you want to see in the world. ” ...is by Mahatma Gandhi...

14 aprile 2012

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali

Raja Yoga - Ashtanga Yoga

For clarity of study and practice, the 196 sutras of the Yoga Sutras have been clustered into 39 sections below.

Each of the links below contains Sanskrit transliteration, word-for-word translations, and practical explanations.

Introduction to Yoga Sutras |
List of all 196 sutras |
Narrative of the Sutras |
PDF Downloads on Yoga Sutras
By Swami Jnaneshvara:

(roll over and click)

What is Yoga?
1: Now, after previous preparation, begins yoga
2: Yoga is the mastery and integration of the activities of mind
3: Then the seer, the Self rests in its true nature
4: At other times, it is identified with subtle thoughtsUn-coloring your thoughts
5-6: Witnessing 5 kinds of thoughts that are either colored or not-colored
7: Three ways to obtain correct knowledge
8-11: Incorrect knowledge, imagination, sleep, memory

Practice and non-attachment
12: How to master thoughts
13: Meaning of practice
14: How to make practice firm
15-16: Non-attachment and supreme non-attachment

Types of concentration
17: Four levels of concentration
18: Objectless concentration is next

Efforts and commitment
19-20: Five types of effort needed
21-22: Choosing one of nine levels of practice

Direct route through AUM
23-29: Contemplation on AUM

Obstacles and solutions
30-31: Obstacles on the journey
32: Use one-pointedness for the obstacles

Stabilizing and clearing the mind33: Four attitudes to cultivate towards other people
34-38: Five concentrations for stabilizing the mind
39: Or, concentration on whatever is pleasant and useful

After stabilizing the mind 
40: Ability to focus on infinitely small and large is sign of stability
41: Mind becomes clear, like a transparent crystal
42-46: Types of engrossment with concentration
47-49: Gaining knowledge filled with higher truth
50: Samadhi leaves latent impressions that oppose formation of others
51: Then comes objectless samadhi

Yoga Sutras Chapter 2

(roll over and click)

Minimizing gross coloring
1-2: Kriya yoga reduces colored thoughts by three methods
3: Five kinds of coloring
4: Four stages of coloring
5: Four types of ignorance
6-9: Colorings of I-ness, attraction, aversion, and fearDealing with subtle thoughts
10: Once thoughts are subtle, they are eliminated by dissolution of mind
11: When there remains slight coloring of thoughts, it is neutralized by meditation

Breaking the alliance of karma
12-14: Nature of latent impressions
15: A wise one sees even pleasure as painful
16: Pain yet to come is to be avoided
17: Uniting seer and seen is the cause of the pain to be avoided
18-22: Nature of those objects
23-24: Eliminating the alliance with avidya or ignorance, which is the underlying problem
25: By reducing this avidya, ignorance, freedom naturally ensues

The 8 rungs and discrimination
26-27: Discrimination is the central key to enlightenment
28: 8 rungs of Yoga are the tool for discrimination
29: 8 rungs of Yoga are listed

Yamas & Niyamas, #1-2
30-31: The 5 Yamas, rung #1
32: The 5 Niyamas, rung #2
33: When negative, remind yourself this brings misery and ignorance
34: Negativity is 27 types

Benefits from Yamas & Niyamas
35-39: Benefits from the 5 Yamas
40-45: Benefits from the 5 Niyamas

Asana, #3 of 8 rungs
46-48: Meditation posture, Asana, is attained by attention on the infinite

Pranayama, #4 of 8 rungs
49-50: Three aspects of breath
51: Fourth pranayama is beyond these
52-53: This thins the veil of karma over the light

Pratyahara, #5 of 8 rungs
54: The senses and actions return back into the mind
55: Then there is less tendency of the mind towards objects

Yoga Sutras Chapter 3
(roll over and click)

Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi, #6, #7, #8 of 8 rungs
1: Dharana or concentration is #6
2: Dhyana or meditation, #7, comes from repeated concentration
3: Samadhi, #8, comes from deep absorptionSamyama is the finer tool
4: Dharana, dhyana, and samadhi together are Samyama
5: Mastery of Samyama brings the light of knowledge
6: Apply Samyama to finer planes, states, or stages

Internal is seen to be external
7: These 3 rungs are more intimate and internal than the first 5
8: Even these 3 are external compared to seedless Samadhi

Witnessing subtle transitions
9-16: Samyama is done on 3 extremely subtle thought transitions

Experiences from Samyama
17: Three aspects of an object
18: Samyama on samskaras
19-20: On ideas from others
21-22: On physical form and senses
23: On karma foretells death
24-25: On attitudes and strength
26-35: On inner subtleties
36-37: On pure consciousness

What to do with experiences
38: They are both attainments and obstacles

More from Samyama
39: Passage to another body
40-41: Samyama on pranas
42-43: On space, hearing, and body
44: On thought projections
45-47: On the five elements
48-49: On senses and actions

Renunciation and liberation
50: Discernment of Buddhi and Purusha brings mastery over all
51: Non-attachment to forms and omniscience destroys seeds
52: Decline invitations of celestials

Higher discrimination
53: Moments and succession
54: Discriminating similar objects
55: Higher knowledge is intuitive and born from discrimination
56: Equality between Buddhi and Purusha brings liberation

(roll over and click)

Means of attaining experience
1: Five means of subtler attainment
2: Transitions involve filling in
3: Removal of obstacles brings resultsEmergence and mastery of mind
4-6: Construct and use of mind

Actions and karma
7: Kinds of actions
8: Subconscious manifests

Subconscious impressions
9: Memory and latent impressions
10: Desire for self preservation
11: Disappearance of cause, motive, and substratum
12: Past and future are present in fundamental form

Objects and the 3 gunas
13: Characteristics made of gunas
14: Objects appear as a unit

Mind perceiving objects
15: Separate minds and paths
16: Object is not dependent on one mind
17: Objects known by coloring

Illumination of the mind
18: Thoughts are known by purusha
19: Mind not self illuminating
20: Mind and objects cannot be cognized simultaneously
21: One mind does not illumine another

Buddhi and liberation
22: Consciousness and buddhi
23-24: Seer and mind
25: Inquiries about self cease
26: Discrimination and liberation

Breaches in enlightenment
27: Breaks in enlightenment allow colorings to arise
28: Colorings are dealt with as before

Perpetual enlightenment
29: Rain cloud of virtues comes
30: Actions and colorings are removed

Knowables become few
31: There is little to know

Gunas after liberation
32: Succession of change ends
33: Succession defined34: Gunas resolve into their caus